A Teacher’s Dream Diary Series: Convolutions

It was a broad sunny day.

Photo by George Becker on Pexels.com

A former coworker and her sister walked past wearing a matching green and white outfit…similar to mine. Everything seemed calm until I suddenly jumped.

Before I knew it, I was hanging onto two glass panels, right in the middle of a busy mall. I stared down at the multiple flights of stores and stairs beneath me. My fingertips grew moist, and I felt myself slipping.

As I fell down, no one glanced at me. I only heard the soft bustles of steps echoing in my ears.


My back felt heavy. It should have been shattered, but I was walking with a group of my teacher colleagues. I recognized the history teacher that taught across from me. We were led by this sharply dressed man in a suit and tie, his hair slicked back like the protagonist of American Psycho. He looked rich.

We kept walking and walking through antique looking halls, and down multiple flights of stairs. I thought we were heading down to a basement. But then we walked through a door that led us outdoors, where calm green patches of grass and clean grey pathways greeted us. It reminded me of UCLA and USC college campuses mixed together.

The man took us to another building. Once we stepped in there, everything went dim. There were black and white tiles laid on the floor before us—a chess board. The teachers and I felt compelled to take up a square like a chess piece. I became one of the bishops. The long line of pawns stood right in front of me.

Did we have to challenge someone in a chess game? The man left us in this dark room, with no way out. We made the first move, pushing our our first pawn two spaces up to the middle of the board. After a few more turns, I considered moving myself to challenge a knight, or was it the queen?

But the history teacher turned to me and said, “Don’t sacrifice yourself.”

Everything became a blur. The chess board shrunk and we were elevated into the air.


Let me know in the comments if you can interpret my dream!


Thank you for stopping by Haunting Comforts, where I share teaching, faith, and life through stories, reflections, and analyses. Subscribe & follow me on Instagram for more updates!

2 thoughts on “A Teacher’s Dream Diary Series: Convolutions

Add yours

  1. I believe you would be in need of Daniel… however, even he might be stumped… today’s buildings…? a mall…? a chess game…? are outside his ancient knowledge… but… I’ll take a bite… both episodes speak of going down, or looking down… both have a connection with your working environment… both have you occupying your own space, while others are around you… I think the key may be in the words of your colleague… “Don’t sacrifice yourself.”

    Although life can be a game, and you are surrounded by others, don’t get in too deep with the circumstances of others, even if they are ‘dressed’ like you, your reality may end up in the ‘basement.’

    Don’t sacrifice yourself…!
    🏖️🇯🇲

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑