Writing Prompt Wednesday: Signs, a partial sestina

Photo by Martin Pu00e9chy on Pexels.com

Whenever I write poems, I usually write in free verse since it comes more easily to me. Today, I challenged myself to follow a more structured form to stretch my writing muscles and get out of my comfort zone.

This prompt from ethicalela.com: Write about a time when something that once brought you joy took a turn and brought you sadness instead, in a 2-stanza Sestina .

Back in the day, it was the four of us.
We chatted, we dined, and we stayed up late.
It was a strange exhilaration to ignore all signs,
to own myself, to not do what I’m told,
to follow the tracks of a pleasure-seeking world.
Little did I know, aimless isolation followed.

A wall of sorrow of building betrayal followed
Indeed, cracks in our friendship lie before us.
In this moment, void choked me in this world.
I stumbled and fumbled, but I was too late.
See, see, before your eyes, Mother told
Me; these are the signs.


Thank you for stopping by Haunting Comforts, where I share teaching, faith, and life through stories, reflections, and analyses. Subscribe & follow me on Instagram for more updates!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑